Dance on Television

So You Think You Can Dance

So You Think You Can Dance is a televised dance competition show that airs on Fox.  The dancers, or contestants, train in a variety of dance styles, each having to learn and master at least one duet and one group dance.  Each week, at least one dancer is eliminated based upon the votes of viewers and the critiques of the judges.  In the end, there is one dancer left who is nominated as “America’s Favorite Dancer” and awarded a prize of typically around $250 thousand.  After the show, the winner usually is given more publicity such as being printed on the cover of magazines, or offered prestige jobs as performers or instructors.  The show has been awarded with seven Primetime Emmy Awards for Outstanding Choreography, and nine Emmy awards overall.  SYTYCD is hosted by Cat Deeley, and judged by Nigel Lythgoe, Mary Murphy, and recently Vanessa Huygens.

World of Dance

Four expert celebrity dancers – Jennifer Lopez, Ne-Yo, Derek Hough, and Jenna Dewan Tatum – judge and mentor the top dancers and dance troupes from all over the world.  This show is newer – it first aired in 2017 on NBC.  They compete for a $1 million prize, each in their own genre of dance and incorporating their unique style.  Each week, the groups choreograph their own dances and perform as well as battle other dancers or groups.  The show attracts YouTube stars, dance icons, and over 100,000 fans to events in 25 different countries, and is the largest worldwide dane competition.

Dancing with the Stars

Professional dancers pair up with celebrities to train and compete in the various styles of ballroom dancing.  Broadcasted on ABC, this show first aired in 2005 with 26 seasons, and is co-hosted by Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews.  In past seasons, the show has had a different theme for each week, and the dancers are required to choreograph or perform a routine that fits the theme.  The couple receiving the lowest combined total of judges’ points and audience votes is eliminated each week until only the champion dance pair remains.